Past Honorary Members

Honorary Membership was limited to 10 from 1890-1900, and to 15 from 1901 onwards. Corresponding Membership was a lesser class of Honoris causa membership in the early years. A few honorary members, such as Barnard, were first made corresponding members for a short time before being recommissioned as honorary members.

Nation(s) Start End
Adams, Dr. Walter Sydney USA 1945 1956
Ambartsumian, Dr. Viktor Amazaspovitch USSR/Armenia 1959 1996
Baade, Dr. Wilhelm Heinrich Walter Germany 1954 1960
Backlund, Dr. Oskar Sweden/Russia 1916 1916
Baillaud, Dr. Édouard Benjamin France 1916 1934
Baldwin, Dr. Ralph Belknap USA 1980 2011
Ball, Dr. Sir Robert Stawell United Kingdom 1894 1913
Barnard, Dr. Edward Emerson USA 1901 1923
Bateson, Dr. Frank M. New Zealand 1984 2006
Bok, Dr. Bart J. Holland, USA, Australia 1961 1982