Past Honorary Members

Honorary Membership was limited to 10 from 1890-1900, and to 15 from 1901 onwards. Corresponding Membership was a lesser class of Honoris causa membership in the early years. A few honorary members, such as Barnard, were first made corresponding members for a short time before being recommissioned as honorary members.

Nation(s) Start End
Kirkwood, Dr. Daniel USA 1890 1895
Langley, Dr. Samuel Pierpont USA 1894 1906
Lindblad, Dr. Bertil Sweden 1956 1965
Loewy, M. Maurice France 1901 1907
Lowell, Prof. Percival Lawrence USA 1916 1916
Maunder, Mr. Edward Walter United Kingdom 1894 1928
McLeod, Dr. Clement Henry Canada 1894 1917
Mitchell, Prof. Samuel Canada/USA 1958 1960
Monck, Prof. William Henry Stanley Ireland 1898 1915
Moore, Sir Patrick United Kingdom 1993 2013


Last modified: 
Sunday, July 19, 2015 - 1:47pm