Skip to main content

Welcome

Founded in 1868, The Royal Astronomical Society of Canada is Canada's leading astronomy organization bringing together over 4,800 enthusiastic amateur astronomers, educators, and professionals.

Upcoming Local Events

RASC centres across Canada host meetings and observing sessions, open to everyone. Come on out and enjoy an event near you.

Datesort icon RASC Centre Event
Fri, 2015-05-08 Ottawa Public Observing Session
Sat, 2015-05-09 New Brunswick Monthly Meeting
Mon, 2015-05-11 Edmonton Regular Meeting
Tue, 2015-05-12 Thunder Bay Regular Meeting
Wed, 2015-05-13 Victoria Monthly Meeting
Thu, 2015-05-14 Vancouver Monthly Meeting
Thu, 2015-05-14 Kingston Regular Meeting
Fri, 2015-05-15 London Monthly Meeting
Tue, 2015-05-19 Windsor Regular Meeting
Wed, 2015-05-20 St. John's General Meeting

This Day in Astronomical History

This Day in Astronomical History

1848:

A. Graham discovers asteroid (9) Metis.

1990:

Hubble Space Telescope deployed by shuttle Discovery.

Personal Astronomy Blogs

Today

Today is Sat 25 Apr 2015, JD 2,457,138 (day 115 of 365 this year).