Past Honorary Members

Honorary Membership was limited to 10 from 1890-1900, and to 15 from 1901 onwards. Corresponding Membership was a lesser class of Honoris causa membership in the early years. A few honorary members, such as Barnard, were first made corresponding members for a short time before being recommissioned as honorary members.

Nation(s)sort descending Start End
Stebbins, Dr. Joel USA 1958 1966
Struvé, Dr. Otto USA 1959 1963
Keeler, Dr. James Edward USA 1895 1900
Proctor, Miss Mary USA 1896 1957
Pickering, Dr. Edward Charles, OPM USA 1894 1919
Adams, Dr. Walter Sydney USA 1945 1956
Sandage, Dr. Allan R. USA 1975 2010
Harrison, Mr. Henry USA 1913 1929
Schlesinger, Dr. Frank USA 1916 1943
Bowen, Dr. Ira S. USA 1956 1973