Past Honorary Members

Honorary Membership was limited to 10 from 1890-1900, and to 15 from 1901 onwards. Corresponding Membership was a lesser class of Honoris causa membership in the early years. A few honorary members, such as Barnard, were first made corresponding members for a short time before being recommissioned as honorary members.

Nation(s) Start Endsort descending
Hubble, Dr. Edwin Powell USA 1951 1953
Adams, Dr. Walter Sydney USA 1945 1956
Proctor, Miss Mary USA 1896 1957
Russell, Prof. Henry Norris USA 1946 1957
Mitchell, Prof. Samuel Canada/USA 1958 1960
Stratton, Prof. Frederick John Marrian United Kingdom 1954 1960
Spencer Jones, Sir Harold United Kingdom 1947 1960
Baade, Dr. Wilhelm Heinrich Walter Germany 1954 1960
Struvé, Dr. Otto USA 1959 1963
Lindblad, Dr. Bertil Sweden 1956 1965