Past Honorary Members

Honorary Membership was limited to 10 from 1890-1900, and to 15 from 1901 onwards. Corresponding Membership was a lesser class of Honoris causa membership in the early years. A few honorary members, such as Barnard, were first made corresponding members for a short time before being recommissioned as honorary members.

Nation(s)sort descending Start End
Christie, Dr. Sir Wm. Henry Mahoney United Kingdom 1891 1922
Spencer Jones, Sir Harold United Kingdom 1947 1960
Maunder, Mr. Edward Walter United Kingdom 1894 1928
Espin, Rev. Thomas Espinell United Kingdom 1894 1934
Ball, Dr. Sir Robert Stawell United Kingdom 1894 1913
Elger, Mr. Thomas Gwyn Empy United Kingdom 1896 1897
Greenwood, Cpt. W. Nelson United Kingdom 1898 1906
Darwin, Dr. Sir George Howard United Kingdom 1894 1912
Stratton, Prof. Frederick John Marrian United Kingdom 1954 1960
Denning, Mr. William F. United Kingdom 1891 1931