Past Honorary Members

Honorary Membership was limited to 10 from 1890-1900, and to 15 from 1901 onwards. Corresponding Membership was a lesser class of Honoris causa membership in the early years. A few honorary members, such as Barnard, were first made corresponding members for a short time before being recommissioned as honorary members.

Nation(s) Startsort ascending End
Bowen, Dr. Ira S. USA 1956 1973
Unsöld, Dr. Albrecht Germany 1956 1995
Oort, Dr. Jan Hendrik Netherlands 1954 1992
Stratton, Prof. Frederick John Marrian United Kingdom 1954 1960
Baade, Dr. Wilhelm Heinrich Walter Germany 1954 1960
Hubble, Dr. Edwin Powell USA 1951 1953
Spencer Jones, Sir Harold United Kingdom 1947 1960
Shapley, Dr. Harlow USA 1947 1972
Russell, Prof. Henry Norris USA 1946 1957
Hertzsprung, Prof. Ejnar Denmark 1946 1967