Past Honorary Members

Honorary Membership was limited to 10 from 1890-1900, and to 15 from 1901 onwards. Corresponding Membership was a lesser class of Honoris causa membership in the early years. A few honorary members, such as Barnard, were first made corresponding members for a short time before being recommissioned as honorary members.

Nation(s) Start Endsort ascending
Woolley, Dr. Richard v.d.R. United Kingdom/South Africa 1961 1986
Shklovsky, Dr. Iosif S. USSR 1966 1984
Ryle, Sir Martin United Kingdom 1973 1983
Bok, Dr. Bart J. Holland, USA, Australia 1961 1982
Plaskett, Prof. Harry H. Canada/United Kingdom 1961 1979
van Biesbroeck, Dr. Georges-Achille Belgium/USA 1962 1974
Clemence, Dr. Gerald M. USA 1964 1974
Bowen, Dr. Ira S. USA 1956 1973
Joy, Dr. Alfred H. USA 1961 1973
Shapley, Dr. Harlow USA 1947 1972