Past Honorary Members

Honorary Membership was limited to 10 from 1890-1900, and to 15 from 1901 onwards. Corresponding Membership was a lesser class of Honoris causa membership in the early years. A few honorary members, such as Barnard, were first made corresponding members for a short time before being recommissioned as honorary members.

Nation(s) Start Endsort ascending
Shoemaker, Carolyn USA 2003 2021
Hawking, Dr. Stephen W. England 1985 2018
Moore, Sir Patrick United Kingdom 1993 2013
Dollfus, Dr. Audouin C. France 1975 2011
Baldwin, Dr. Ralph Belknap USA 1980 2011
Robinson, Mr. Leif J. USA 2000 2011
Sandage, Dr. Allan R. USA 1975 2010
Bateson, Dr. Frank M. New Zealand 1984 2006
Brown, Dr. R. Hanbury United Kingdom/Australia 1987 2002
Underhill, Dr. Anne Canada 1996 2002