Past Honorary Members

Honorary Membership was limited to 10 from 1890-1900, and to 15 from 1901 onwards. Corresponding Membership was a lesser class of Honoris causa membership in the early years. A few honorary members, such as Barnard, were first made corresponding members for a short time before being recommissioned as honorary members.

Nation(s) Start Endsort descending
Espin, Rev. Thomas Espinell United Kingdom 1894 1934
Baillaud, Dr. Édouard Benjamin France 1916 1934
Frost, Prof. Edwin Brant USA 1906 1935
Hale, Dr. George Ellery USA 1900 1938
Campbell, Prof. William Wallace USA 1905 1938
Pickering, Mr. William Henry USA 1894 1938
Williams, Mr. Arthur Stanley United Kingdom 1909 1938
Dyson, Sir Frank Watson United Kingdom 1916 1939
Schlesinger, Dr. Frank USA 1916 1943
Hirayama, Prof. Kiyotsugu Japan 1907 1943