Past Honorary Members

Honorary Membership was limited to 10 from 1890-1900, and to 15 from 1901 onwards. Corresponding Membership was a lesser class of Honoris causa membership in the early years. A few honorary members, such as Barnard, were first made corresponding members for a short time before being recommissioned as honorary members.

Nation(s) Start Endsort descending
Burnham, Prof. Sherburne Wesley USA 1891 1921
Christie, Dr. Sir Wm. Henry Mahoney United Kingdom 1891 1922
Barnard, Dr. Edward Emerson USA 1901 1923
Flammarion, M. Camille France 1901 1925
Bruce, Mr. William Canada 1927 1927
Maunder, Mr. Edward Walter United Kingdom 1894 1928
Harrison, Mr. Henry USA 1913 1929
Turner, Prof. Herbert Hall United Kingdom 1916 1930
Wolfer, Prof. Alfred Switzerland 1904 1931
Denning, Mr. William F. United Kingdom 1891 1931