Past Honorary Members

Honorary Membership was limited to 10 from 1890-1900, and to 15 from 1901 onwards. Corresponding Membership was a lesser class of Honoris causa membership in the early years. A few honorary members, such as Barnard, were first made corresponding members for a short time before being recommissioned as honorary members.

Nation(s) Startsort ascending End
van Biesbroeck, Dr. Georges-Achille Belgium/USA 1962 1974
Woolley, Dr. Richard v.d.R. United Kingdom/South Africa 1961 1986
Bok, Dr. Bart J. Holland, USA, Australia 1961 1982
Joy, Dr. Alfred H. USA 1961 1973
Plaskett, Prof. Harry H. Canada/United Kingdom 1961 1979
Struvé, Dr. Otto USA 1959 1963
Ambartsumian, Dr. Viktor Amazaspovitch USSR/Armenia 1959 1996
Mitchell, Prof. Samuel Canada/USA 1958 1960
Stebbins, Dr. Joel USA 1958 1966
Lindblad, Dr. Bertil Sweden 1956 1965