Past Honorary Members

Honorary Membership was limited to 10 from 1890-1900, and to 15 from 1901 onwards. Corresponding Membership was a lesser class of Honoris causa membership in the early years. A few honorary members, such as Barnard, were first made corresponding members for a short time before being recommissioned as honorary members.

Nation(s)sort ascending Start End
Ryle, Sir Martin United Kingdom 1973 1983
Dyson, Sir Frank Watson United Kingdom 1916 1939
Wolfer, Prof. Alfred Switzerland 1904 1931
Backlund, Dr. Oskar Sweden/Russia 1916 1916
Lindblad, Dr. Bertil Sweden 1956 1965
von Struvé, Dr. Otto Wilhelm Russia 1894 1899
Iwanowska, Dr. Wilhelmina Poland 1973 1999
Bateson, Dr. Frank M. New Zealand 1984 2006
van de Hulst, Prof. Hendrik Netherlands 1968 2000
Oort, Dr. Jan Hendrik Netherlands 1954 1992