Past Honorary Members

Honorary Membership was limited to 10 from 1890-1900, and to 15 from 1901 onwards. Corresponding Membership was a lesser class of Honoris causa membership in the early years. A few honorary members, such as Barnard, were first made corresponding members for a short time before being recommissioned as honorary members.

Nation(s)sort descending Start End
Schlesinger, Dr. Frank USA 1916 1943
Bowen, Dr. Ira S. USA 1956 1973
Rogers, Prof. William A. USA 1894 1898
Holden, Dr. Edward S. USA 1891 1914
Joy, Dr. Alfred H. USA 1961 1973
Burnham, Prof. Sherburne Wesley USA 1891 1921
Pickering, Mr. William Henry USA 1894 1938
Reber, Mr. Grote USA/Australia 1988 2002
Winder, Mr. Daniel K. USA/Canada 1890 1891
Proctor, Mrs. Richard A. USA/Ireland 1891 1896