Skip to main content

Past Honorary Members

Honorary Membership was limited to 10 from 1890-1900, and to 15 from 1901 onwards. Corresponding Membership was a lesser class of Honoris causa membership in the early years. A few honorary members, such as Barnard, were first made corresponding members for a short time before being recommissioned as honorary members.


There are 100 past honorary members.

Click on a column heading to sort the list. Click again to reverse the order.

Namesort icon Nation(s) Start End
Turner, Prof. Herbert Hall United Kingdom 1916 1930
Terby, M. François J. Belgium 1894 1911
Swift, Dr. Lewis A. USA 1903 1913
Struvé, Dr. Otto USA 1959 1963
Strömgren, Prof. Bengt G. Denmark 1968 1987
Stratton, Prof. Frederick John Marrian United Kingdom 1954 1960
Stebbins, Dr. Joel USA 1958 1966
Spencer Jones, Sir Harold United Kingdom 1947 1960
Shklovsky, Dr. Iosif S. USSR 1966 1984
Shearmen, Mr. T.S.H. Canada 1890 1900