Past Honorary Members

Honorary Membership was limited to 10 from 1890-1900, and to 15 from 1901 onwards. Corresponding Membership was a lesser class of Honoris causa membership in the early years. A few honorary members, such as Barnard, were first made corresponding members for a short time before being recommissioned as honorary members.

Nation(s)sort descending Start End
Peal, Mr. Samuel Edward United Kingdom/India 1891 1897
Woolley, Dr. Richard v.d.R. United Kingdom/South Africa 1961 1986
Swift, Dr. Lewis A. USA 1903 1913
Robinson, Mr. Leif J. USA 2000 2011
Shapley, Dr. Harlow USA 1947 1972
Kirkwood, Dr. Daniel USA 1890 1895
Kedzie, Mr. John Hume USA 1890 1903
Goldberg, Dr. Leo USA 1974 1988
Langley, Dr. Samuel Pierpont USA 1894 1906
Brashear, Dr. John A. USA 1901 1920


Last modified: 
Sunday, July 19, 2015 - 1:47pm