Past Honorary Members

Honorary Membership was limited to 10 from 1890-1900, and to 15 from 1901 onwards. Corresponding Membership was a lesser class of Honoris causa membership in the early years. A few honorary members, such as Barnard, were first made corresponding members for a short time before being recommissioned as honorary members.

Nation(s)sort descending Start End
Lowell, Prof. Percival Lawrence USA 1916 1916
Barnard, Dr. Edward Emerson USA 1901 1923
Newcomb, Rear Admiral Dr. Simon USA 1891 1909
Robinson, Mr. Leif J. USA 2000 2011
Swift, Dr. Lewis A. USA 1903 1913
Shapley, Dr. Harlow USA 1947 1972
Reber, Mr. Grote USA/Australia 1988 2002
Winder, Mr. Daniel K. USA/Canada 1890 1891
Proctor, Mrs. Richard A. USA/Ireland 1891 1896
Shklovsky, Dr. Iosif S. USSR 1966 1984


Last modified: 
Sunday, July 19, 2015 - 1:47pm