Past Honorary Members

Honorary Membership was limited to 10 from 1890-1900, and to 15 from 1901 onwards. Corresponding Membership was a lesser class of Honoris causa membership in the early years. A few honorary members, such as Barnard, were first made corresponding members for a short time before being recommissioned as honorary members.

Nation(s)sort descending Start End
Langley, Dr. Samuel Pierpont USA 1894 1906
Brashear, Dr. John A. USA 1901 1920
Hale, Dr. George Ellery USA 1900 1938
Russell, Prof. Henry Norris USA 1946 1957
Schwarzschild, Dr. Martin USA 1963 1999
Baldwin, Dr. Ralph Belknap USA 1980 2011
Reber, Mr. Grote USA/Australia 1988 2002
Winder, Mr. Daniel K. USA/Canada 1890 1891
Proctor, Mrs. Richard A. USA/Ireland 1891 1896
Shklovsky, Dr. Iosif S. USSR 1966 1984


Last modified: 
Sunday, July 19, 2015 - 1:47pm