Past Honorary Members

Honorary Membership was limited to 10 from 1890-1900, and to 15 from 1901 onwards. Corresponding Membership was a lesser class of Honoris causa membership in the early years. A few honorary members, such as Barnard, were first made corresponding members for a short time before being recommissioned as honorary members.

Nation(s) Start Endsort ascending
van de Hulst, Prof. Hendrik Netherlands 1968 2000
Schwarzschild, Dr. Martin USA 1963 1999
Iwanowska, Dr. Wilhelmina Poland 1973 1999
Ambartsumian, Dr. Viktor Amazaspovitch USSR/Armenia 1959 1996
Unsöld, Dr. Albrecht Germany 1956 1995
Hogg, Dr. Helen S. Canada 1987 1993
Oort, Dr. Jan Hendrik Netherlands 1954 1992
Goldberg, Dr. Leo USA 1974 1988
Strömgren, Prof. Bengt G. Denmark 1968 1987
Woolley, Dr. Richard v.d.R. United Kingdom/South Africa 1961 1986


Last modified: 
Sunday, July 19, 2015 - 1:47pm