Skip to main content

Past Honorary Members

Honorary Membership was limited to 10 from 1890-1900, and to 15 from 1901 onwards. Corresponding Membership was a lesser class of Honoris causa membership in the early years. A few honorary members, such as Barnard, were first made corresponding members for a short time before being recommissioned as honorary members.


There are 100 past honorary members.

Click on a column heading to sort the list. Click again to reverse the order.

Namesort icon Nation(s) Start End
Bok, Dr. Bart J. Australia 1961 1982
Bateson, Dr. Frank M. New Zealand 1984 2006
Barnard, Dr. Edward Emerson USA 1901 1923
Ball, Dr. Sir Robert Stawell United Kingdom 1894 1913
Baldwin, Dr. Ralph Belknap USA 1980 2011
Baillaud, Dr. Édouard Benjamin France 1916 1934
Backlund, Dr. Oskar Sweden/Russia 1916 1916
Baade, Dr. Wilhelm Heinrich Walter Germany 1954 1960
Ambartsumian, Dr. Viktor Amazaspovitch USSR/Armenia 1959 1996
Adams, Dr. Walter Sydney USA 1945 1956