Skip to main content

Past Honorary Members

Honorary Membership was limited to 10 from 1890-1900, and to 15 from 1901 onwards. Corresponding Membership was a lesser class of Honoris causa membership in the early years. A few honorary members, such as Barnard, were first made corresponding members for a short time before being recommissioned as honorary members.


There are 100 past honorary members.

Click on a column heading to sort the list. Click again to reverse the order.

Name Nation(s) Startsort icon End
King, Dr. William Frederick Canada 1892 1916
Burnham, Prof. Sherburne Wesley USA 1891 1921
Denning, Mr. William F. United Kingdom 1891 1931
Christie, Dr. Sir Wm. Henry Mahoney United Kingdom 1891 1922
Holden, Dr. Edward S. USA 1891 1914
Huggins, Dr. Sir William United Kingdom 1891 1910
Morrison, Dr. Joseph Canada/USA 1891 1898
Newcomb, Rear Admiral Dr. Simon USA 1891 1909
Peal, Mr. Samuel Edward United Kingdom/India 1891 1897
Proctor, Mrs. Richard A. USA/Ireland 1891 1896