Skip to main content

Past Honorary Members

Honorary Membership was limited to 10 from 1890-1900, and to 15 from 1901 onwards. Corresponding Membership was a lesser class of Honoris causa membership in the early years. A few honorary members, such as Barnard, were first made corresponding members for a short time before being recommissioned as honorary members.


There are 100 past honorary members.

Click on a column heading to sort the list. Click again to reverse the order.

Namesort icon Nation(s) Start End
Goldberg, Dr. Leo USA 1974 1988
Frost, Prof. Edwin Brant USA 1906 1935
Fleming, Dr. Sir Sandford Canada 1890 1915
Flammarion, M. Camille France 1901 1925
Espin, Rev. Thomas Espinell United Kingdom 1894 1934
Elger, Mr. Thomas Gwyn Empy United Kingdom 1896 1897
Dyson, Sir Frank Watson United Kingdom 1916 1939
Downing, Dr. Arthur Matthew Weld United Kingdom 1896 1917
Dollfus, Dr. Audouin C. France 1975 2011
Denning, Mr. William F. United Kingdom 1891 1931