Skip to main content

Past Honorary Members

Honorary Membership was limited to 10 from 1890-1900, and to 15 from 1901 onwards. Corresponding Membership was a lesser class of Honoris causa membership in the early years. A few honorary members, such as Barnard, were first made corresponding members for a short time before being recommissioned as honorary members.


There are 100 past honorary members.

Click on a column heading to sort the list. Click again to reverse the order.

Namesort icon Nation(s) Start End
Reber, Mr. Grote USA/Australia 1988 2002
Robinson, Mr. Leif J. USA 2000 2011
Rogers, Prof. William A. USA 1894 1898
Russell, Prof. Henry Norris USA 1946 1957
Russell, Rev. Norman H. Canada/India 1898 1902
Ryle, Sir Martin United Kingdom 1973 1983
Sandage, Dr. Allan R. USA 1975 2010
Schlesinger, Dr. Frank USA 1916 1943
Schwarzschild, Dr. Martin USA 1963 1999
Shapley, Dr. Harlow USA 1947 1972