Skip to main content

Past Honorary Members

Honorary Membership was limited to 10 from 1890-1900, and to 15 from 1901 onwards. Corresponding Membership was a lesser class of Honoris causa membership in the early years. A few honorary members, such as Barnard, were first made corresponding members for a short time before being recommissioned as honorary members.


There are 100 past honorary members.

Click on a column heading to sort the list. Click again to reverse the order.

Name Nation(s)sort icon Start End
Hirayama, Prof. Kiyotsugu Japan 1907 1943
Monck, Prof. William Henry Stanley Ireland 1898 1915
Gore, Mr. John Ellard Ireland 1891 1910
Unsöld, Dr. Albrecht Germany 1956 1995
Baade, Dr. Wilhelm Heinrich Walter Germany 1954 1960
Vogel, Dr. Hermann C. Germany 1894 1907
Dollfus, Dr. Audouin C. France 1975 2011
Baillaud, Dr. Édouard Benjamin France 1916 1934
Flammarion, M. Camille France 1901 1925
Loewy, M. Maurice France 1901 1907