Skip to main content

Past Honorary Members

Honorary Membership was limited to 10 from 1890-1900, and to 15 from 1901 onwards. Corresponding Membership was a lesser class of Honoris causa membership in the early years. A few honorary members, such as Barnard, were first made corresponding members for a short time before being recommissioned as honorary members.


There are 100 past honorary members.

Click on a column heading to sort the list. Click again to reverse the order.

Name Nation(s) Start Endsort icon
Brashear, Dr. John A. USA 1901 1920
Pickering, Dr. Edward Charles, OPM USA 1894 1919
Downing, Dr. Arthur Matthew Weld United Kingdom 1896 1917
McLeod, Dr. Clement Henry Canada 1894 1917
Backlund, Dr. Oskar Sweden/Russia 1916 1916
Lowell, Prof. Percival Lawrence USA 1916 1916
King, Dr. William Frederick Canada 1892 1916
Monck, Prof. William Henry Stanley Ireland 1898 1915
Fleming, Dr. Sir Sandford Canada 1890 1915
Holden, Dr. Edward S. USA 1891 1914