Skip to main content

Past Honorary Members

Honorary Membership was limited to 10 from 1890-1900, and to 15 from 1901 onwards. Corresponding Membership was a lesser class of Honoris causa membership in the early years. A few honorary members, such as Barnard, were first made corresponding members for a short time before being recommissioned as honorary members.


There are 100 past honorary members.

Click on a column heading to sort the list. Click again to reverse the order.

Namesort icon Nation(s) Start End
Morrison, Dr. Joseph Canada/USA 1891 1898
Moore, Sir Patrick United Kingdom 1993 2013
Monck, Prof. William Henry Stanley Ireland 1898 1915
Mitchell, Prof. Samuel Canada/USA 1958 1960
McLeod, Dr. Clement Henry Canada 1894 1917
Maunder, Mr. Edward Walter United Kingdom 1894 1928
Lowell, Prof. Percival Lawrence USA 1916 1916
Loewy, M. Maurice France 1901 1907
Lindblad, Dr. Bertil Sweden 1956 1965
Langley, Dr. Samuel Pierpont USA 1894 1906