Skip to main content

Past Honorary Members

Honorary Membership was limited to 10 from 1890-1900, and to 15 from 1901 onwards. Corresponding Membership was a lesser class of Honoris causa membership in the early years. A few honorary members, such as Barnard, were first made corresponding members for a short time before being recommissioned as honorary members.


There are 100 past honorary members.

Click on a column heading to sort the list. Click again to reverse the order.

Name Nation(s)sort icon Start End
Frost, Prof. Edwin Brant USA 1906 1935
Pickering, Mr. William Henry USA 1894 1938
Lowell, Prof. Percival Lawrence USA 1916 1916
Russell, Prof. Henry Norris USA 1946 1957
Hubble, Dr. Edwin Powell USA 1951 1953
Barnard, Dr. Edward Emerson USA 1901 1923
Brashear, Dr. John A. USA 1901 1920
Hale, Dr. George Ellery USA 1900 1938
Holden, Dr. Edward S. USA 1891 1914
Keeler, Dr. James Edward USA 1895 1900