Skip to main content

Past Honorary Members

Honorary Membership was limited to 10 from 1890-1900, and to 15 from 1901 onwards. Corresponding Membership was a lesser class of Honoris causa membership in the early years. A few honorary members, such as Barnard, were first made corresponding members for a short time before being recommissioned as honorary members.


There are 100 past honorary members.

Click on a column heading to sort the list. Click again to reverse the order.

Name Nation(s) Startsort icon End
Terby, M. François J. Belgium 1894 1911
Ball, Dr. Sir Robert Stawell United Kingdom 1894 1913
Darwin, Dr. Sir George Howard United Kingdom 1894 1912
Langley, Dr. Samuel Pierpont USA 1894 1906
Pickering, Dr. Edward Charles, OPM USA 1894 1919
von Struvé, Dr. Otto Wilhelm Russia 1894 1899
Vogel, Dr. Hermann C. Germany 1894 1907
Henry, M. Paul France 1894 1905
McLeod, Dr. Clement Henry Canada 1894 1917
Rogers, Prof. William A. USA 1894 1898