Skip to main content

Past Honorary Members

Honorary Membership was limited to 10 from 1890-1900, and to 15 from 1901 onwards. Corresponding Membership was a lesser class of Honoris causa membership in the early years. A few honorary members, such as Barnard, were first made corresponding members for a short time before being recommissioned as honorary members.


There are 100 past honorary members.

Click on a column heading to sort the list. Click again to reverse the order.

Name Nation(s) Startsort icon End
Joy, Dr. Alfred H. USA 1961 1973
Plaskett, Prof. Harry H. Canada/United Kingdom 1961 1979
Woolley, Dr. Richard v.d.R. United Kingdom/South Africa 1961 1986
Ambartsumian, Dr. Viktor Amazaspovitch USSR/Armenia 1959 1996
Struvé, Dr. Otto USA 1959 1963
Stebbins, Dr. Joel USA 1958 1966
Mitchell, Prof. Samuel Canada/USA 1958 1960
Bowen, Dr. Ira S. USA 1956 1973
Lindblad, Dr. Bertil Sweden 1956 1965
Unsöld, Dr. Albrecht Germany 1956 1995