Past Honorary Members

Honorary Membership was limited to 10 from 1890-1900, and to 15 from 1901 onwards. Corresponding Membership was a lesser class of Honoris causa membership in the early years. A few honorary members, such as Barnard, were first made corresponding members for a short time before being recommissioned as honorary members.

Nation(s) Start End
Shearmen, Mr. T.S.H. Canada 1890 1900 view
Shklovsky, Dr. Iosif S. USSR 1966 1984 view
Spencer Jones, Sir Harold United Kingdom 1947 1960 view
Stebbins, Dr. Joel USA 1958 1966 view
Stratton, Prof. Frederick John Marrian United Kingdom 1954 1960 view
Strömgren, Prof. Bengt G. Denmark 1968 1987 view
Struvé, Dr. Otto USA 1959 1963 view
Swift, Dr. Lewis A. USA 1903 1913 view
Terby, M. François J. Belgium 1894 1911 view
Turner, Prof. Herbert Hall United Kingdom 1916 1930 view


Last modified: 
Sunday, July 19, 2015 - 1:47pm