Skip to main content

Past Honorary Members

Honorary Membership was limited to 10 from 1890-1900, and to 15 from 1901 onwards. Corresponding Membership was a lesser class of Honoris causa membership in the early years. A few honorary members, such as Barnard, were first made corresponding members for a short time before being recommissioned as honorary members.


There are 100 past honorary members.

Click on a column heading to sort the list. Click again to reverse the order.

Name Nation(s)sort icon Start End
Peal, Mr. Samuel Edward United Kingdom/India 1891 1897
Newnham, Right Rev. Jervois Arthur United Kingdom/Canada 1895 1905
Brown, Dr. R. Hanbury United Kingdom/Australia 1987 2002
Moore, Sir Patrick United Kingdom 1993 2013
Ryle, Sir Martin United Kingdom 1973 1983
Spencer Jones, Sir Harold United Kingdom 1947 1960
Stratton, Prof. Frederick John Marrian United Kingdom 1954 1960
Denning, Mr. William F. United Kingdom 1891 1931
Espin, Rev. Thomas Espinell United Kingdom 1894 1934
Maunder, Mr. Edward Walter United Kingdom 1894 1928