Skip to main content

Past Honorary Members

Honorary Membership was limited to 10 from 1890-1900, and to 15 from 1901 onwards. Corresponding Membership was a lesser class of Honoris causa membership in the early years. A few honorary members, such as Barnard, were first made corresponding members for a short time before being recommissioned as honorary members.


There are 100 past honorary members.

Click on a column heading to sort the list. Click again to reverse the order.

Name Nation(s)sort icon Start End
Woolley, Dr. Richard v.d.R. United Kingdom/South Africa 1961 1986
Baldwin, Dr. Ralph Belknap USA 1980 2011
Robinson, Mr. Leif J. USA 2000 2011
Sandage, Dr. Allan R. USA 1975 2010
Bowen, Dr. Ira S. USA 1956 1973
Clemence, Dr. Gerald M. USA 1964 1974
Goldberg, Dr. Leo USA 1974 1988
Joy, Dr. Alfred H. USA 1961 1973
Schwarzschild, Dr. Martin USA 1963 1999
Shapley, Dr. Harlow USA 1947 1972