Skip to main content

Past Honorary Members

Honorary Membership was limited to 10 from 1890-1900, and to 15 from 1901 onwards. Corresponding Membership was a lesser class of Honoris causa membership in the early years. A few honorary members, such as Barnard, were first made corresponding members for a short time before being recommissioned as honorary members.


There are 100 past honorary members.

Click on a column heading to sort the list. Click again to reverse the order.

Name Nation(s)sort icon Start End
Bok, Dr. Bart J. Australia 1961 1982
Terby, M. François J. Belgium 1894 1911
van Biesbroeck, Dr. Georges-Achille Belgium/USA 1962 1974
Hogg, Dr. Helen S. Canada 1987 1993
Underhill, Dr. Anne Canada 1996 2002
Fleming, Dr. Sir Sandford Canada 1890 1915
Bruce, Mr. William Canada 1927 1927
Hunter, Mr. Andrew F. Canada 1890 1891
Goldie, Mr. John Canada 1890 1891
Pettit, Mr. H. Canada 1890 1890