Past Honorary Members

Honorary Membership was limited to 10 from 1890-1900, and to 15 from 1901 onwards. Corresponding Membership was a lesser class of Honoris causa membership in the early years. A few honorary members, such as Barnard, were first made corresponding members for a short time before being recommissioned as honorary members.

Nation(s)sort descending Start End
Loewy, M. Maurice France 1901 1907
Flammarion, M. Camille France 1901 1925
Dollfus, Dr. Audouin C. France 1975 2011
Baillaud, Dr. Édouard Benjamin France 1916 1934
Vogel, Dr. Hermann C. Germany 1894 1907
Baade, Dr. Wilhelm Heinrich Walter Germany 1954 1960
Unsöld, Dr. Albrecht Germany 1956 1995
Bok, Dr. Bart J. Holland, USA, Australia 1961 1982
Monck, Prof. William Henry Stanley Ireland 1898 1915
Gore, Mr. John Ellard Ireland 1891 1910


Last modified: 
Sunday, July 19, 2015 - 1:47pm