Past Honorary Members

Honorary Membership was limited to 10 from 1890-1900, and to 15 from 1901 onwards. Corresponding Membership was a lesser class of Honoris causa membership in the early years. A few honorary members, such as Barnard, were first made corresponding members for a short time before being recommissioned as honorary members.

Nation(s) Start Endsort descending
Shklovsky, Dr. Iosif S. USSR 1966 1984
Woolley, Dr. Richard v.d.R. United Kingdom/South Africa 1961 1986
Strömgren, Prof. Bengt G. Denmark 1968 1987
Goldberg, Dr. Leo USA 1974 1988
Oort, Dr. Jan Hendrik Netherlands 1954 1992
Hogg, Dr. Helen S. Canada 1987 1993
Unsöld, Dr. Albrecht Germany 1956 1995
Ambartsumian, Dr. Viktor Amazaspovitch USSR/Armenia 1959 1996
Schwarzschild, Dr. Martin USA 1963 1999
Iwanowska, Dr. Wilhelmina Poland 1973 1999