Past Honorary Members

Honorary Membership was limited to 10 from 1890-1900, and to 15 from 1901 onwards. Corresponding Membership was a lesser class of Honoris causa membership in the early years. A few honorary members, such as Barnard, were first made corresponding members for a short time before being recommissioned as honorary members.

Nation(s) Startsort descending End
Bruce, Mr. William Canada 1927 1927
Adams, Dr. Walter Sydney USA 1945 1956
Hertzsprung, Prof. Ejnar Denmark 1946 1967
Russell, Prof. Henry Norris USA 1946 1957
Spencer Jones, Sir Harold United Kingdom 1947 1960
Shapley, Dr. Harlow USA 1947 1972
Hubble, Dr. Edwin Powell USA 1951 1953
Oort, Dr. Jan Hendrik Netherlands 1954 1992
Stratton, Prof. Frederick John Marrian United Kingdom 1954 1960
Baade, Dr. Wilhelm Heinrich Walter Germany 1954 1960