Past Honorary Members

Honorary Membership was limited to 10 from 1890-1900, and to 15 from 1901 onwards. Corresponding Membership was a lesser class of Honoris causa membership in the early years. A few honorary members, such as Barnard, were first made corresponding members for a short time before being recommissioned as honorary members.

Nation(s)sort ascending Start End
Denning, Mr. William F. United Kingdom 1891 1931
Turner, Prof. Herbert Hall United Kingdom 1916 1930
Williams, Mr. Arthur Stanley United Kingdom 1909 1938
Clerke, Miss Agnes M. United Kingdom 1891 1907
Huggins, Dr. Sir William United Kingdom 1891 1910
Downing, Dr. Arthur Matthew Weld United Kingdom 1896 1917
Moore, Sir Patrick United Kingdom 1993 2013
Ryle, Sir Martin United Kingdom 1973 1983
Dyson, Sir Frank Watson United Kingdom 1916 1939
Christie, Dr. Sir Wm. Henry Mahoney United Kingdom 1891 1922