Lachlan Gilchrist

(1875-1962) Assistant Professor of Physics at the University of Toronto; Society President (1934-35).

Continue Reading

Robert Meldrum Stewart

(1878-1954) Dominion Observatory Director (1924-46); Society President (1924-25).

Continue Reading

Walter Jackson

(1880-1962) A specialist in terrestrial magnetism, and President of the Society (1922-23).

Continue Reading

Andrew Hunter

(1863-1940) President of the Society (1926-27).

Continue Reading

Clarence Chant

(1865-1956) Professor of Astronomy at University of Toronto, President of the Society (1904-07), editor of the Journal and Handbook for 50 years, and an important figure in the creation of the David Dunlap Observatory.

Continue Reading

John Stanley Plaskett

(1865-1941) J.S. Plaskett played a pivotal role in the establishment of astrophysical research in Canada and helped to confirm the rotation rate of the Milky Way. He was an active member of the Ottawa Centre between 1907 and 1918, acted as an Associate Editor of the Journal for 28 years, and Society President (1914-15).

Continue Reading

Robert Stupart

(1857-1940) F.R.S.C., F.R.A.S.C. Director of the Toronto Observatory and Superintendent of the Dominion Meteorological Service (1894-1929), and President of the Society (1902-03). He was knighted in 1916.

Continue Reading

John Paterson

(1846-1930) Math teacher at Upper Canada College, later a lawyer; Society President (1896-97).

Continue Reading

Andrew Elvins

(1823-1918) One of the founding members of the society in 1868; VP 1890-91.

Continue Reading

Lowell Lecture

Toronto Meetings 1916
The Meetings Are Open To The Public

A SPECIAL MEETING will be held in the Auditorium of the

Harbord and Lippincott Sts.,
on THURSDAY, APRIL 27th, 1916, at 8 o'clock.

Professor Percival Lowell
A.B., L.L.D.,
Director of the Lowell Observatory, Flagstaff, Ariz.,

will give an illustrated lecture on

Continue Reading


Subscribe to RSS - 1910s