Skip to main content

Past Honorary Members

Honorary Membership was limited to 10 from 1890-1900, and to 15 from 1901 onwards. Corresponding Membership was a lesser class of Honoris causa membership in the early years. A few honorary members, such as Barnard, were first made corresponding members for a short time before being recommissioned as honorary members.


There are 100 past honorary members.

Click on a column heading to sort the list. Click again to reverse the order.

Name Nation(s)sort icon Start End
Ryle, Sir Martin United Kingdom 1973 1983
Spencer Jones, Sir Harold United Kingdom 1947 1960
Stratton, Prof. Frederick John Marrian United Kingdom 1954 1960
Denning, Mr. William F. United Kingdom 1891 1931
Espin, Rev. Thomas Espinell United Kingdom 1894 1934
Maunder, Mr. Edward Walter United Kingdom 1894 1928
Williams, Mr. Arthur Stanley United Kingdom 1909 1938
Dyson, Sir Frank Watson United Kingdom 1916 1939
Turner, Prof. Herbert Hall United Kingdom 1916 1930
Ball, Dr. Sir Robert Stawell United Kingdom 1894 1913