Skip to main content

Past Honorary Members

Honorary Membership was limited to 10 from 1890-1900, and to 15 from 1901 onwards. Corresponding Membership was a lesser class of Honoris causa membership in the early years. A few honorary members, such as Barnard, were first made corresponding members for a short time before being recommissioned as honorary members.


There are 100 past honorary members.

Click on a column heading to sort the list. Click again to reverse the order.

Name Nation(s) Startsort icon End
Schlesinger, Dr. Frank USA 1916 1943
Backlund, Dr. Oskar Sweden/Russia 1916 1916
Baillaud, Dr. Édouard Benjamin France 1916 1934
Dyson, Sir Frank Watson United Kingdom 1916 1939
Lowell, Prof. Percival Lawrence USA 1916 1916
Turner, Prof. Herbert Hall United Kingdom 1916 1930
Harrison, Mr. Henry USA 1913 1929
Williams, Mr. Arthur Stanley United Kingdom 1909 1938
Hirayama, Prof. Kiyotsugu Japan 1907 1943
Frost, Prof. Edwin Brant USA 1906 1935