Skip to main content

Past Honorary Members

Honorary Membership was limited to 10 from 1890-1900, and to 15 from 1901 onwards. Corresponding Membership was a lesser class of Honoris causa membership in the early years. A few honorary members, such as Barnard, were first made corresponding members for a short time before being recommissioned as honorary members.


There are 100 past honorary members.

Click on a column heading to sort the list. Click again to reverse the order.

Namesort icon Nation(s) Start End
Hogg, Dr. Helen S. Canada 1987 1993
Hirayama, Prof. Kiyotsugu Japan 1907 1943
Hertzsprung, Prof. Ejnar Denmark 1946 1967
Henry, M. Paul France 1894 1905
Harrison, Mr. Henry USA 1913 1929
Hale, Dr. George Ellery USA 1900 1938
Greenwood, Cpt. W. Nelson United Kingdom 1898 1906
Gore, Mr. John Ellard Ireland 1891 1910
Gonzalez de León, Sr. Luis Mexico 1903 1914
Goldie, Mr. John Canada 1890 1891