Skip to main content

Past Honorary Members

Honorary Membership was limited to 10 from 1890-1900, and to 15 from 1901 onwards. Corresponding Membership was a lesser class of Honoris causa membership in the early years. A few honorary members, such as Barnard, were first made corresponding members for a short time before being recommissioned as honorary members.


There are 100 past honorary members.

Click on a column heading to sort the list. Click again to reverse the order.

Name Nation(s)sort icon Start End
Shearmen, Mr. T.S.H. Canada 1890 1900
King, Dr. William Frederick Canada 1892 1916
McLeod, Dr. Clement Henry Canada 1894 1917
Russell, Rev. Norman H. Canada/India 1898 1902
Plaskett, Prof. Harry H. Canada/United Kingdom 1961 1979
Mitchell, Prof. Samuel Canada/USA 1958 1960
Morrison, Dr. Joseph Canada/USA 1891 1898
Hertzsprung, Prof. Ejnar Denmark 1946 1967
Strömgren, Prof. Bengt G. Denmark 1968 1987
Dollfus, Dr. Audouin C. France 1975 2011